The Four Rules and Exceptions

This is a discussion on The Four Rules and Exceptions within the Basic Gun Handling & Safety forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; jmf552 posted this comment in a thread about Instructor Shoots Student during Training Class "As a firearms instructor, he broke at least three of the ...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree48Likes

Thread: The Four Rules and Exceptions

jmf552 posted this comment in a thread about Instructor Shoots Student during Training Class

"As a firearms instructor, he broke at least three of the four major firearms safety rules.

- TREAT ALL GUNS AS IF THEY ARE LOADED, ALL THE TIME

- KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF OF THE TRIGGER, UNTIL YOU'VE MADE THE DECISION TO SHOOT.

- NEVER LET THE MUZZLE OF YOUR GUN CROSS ANYTHING THAT YOU AREN'T WILLING TO DESTROY.
    I have been shooting for 50 years, including in the military and I have always wondered if those rules are not part of the problem. Maybe not the problem the instructor had in the OP, but part of the overall safety problem. We preach these rules and then willingly violate them all the time.

- TREAT ALL GUNS AS IF THEY ARE LOADED, ALL THE TIME - Really? No dry firing, no function checking, no letting the hammer down on an empty chamber? A shooting range can never be "cold?" You could never handle a gun in a gun store.

- KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF OF THE TRIGGER, UNTIL YOU'VE MADE THE DECISION TO SHOOT - Again, no dry firing, etc. and how do you field strip a Glock?

- NEVER LET THE MUZZLE OF YOUR GUN CROSS ANYTHING THAT YOU AREN'T WILLING TO DESTROY. So you are willing to destroy the walls, floor and/or furniture in your house when you pick your gun up from wherever you keep it and put your gun in your holster, because there is no way to get it in the holster without the muzzle crossing something you wouldn't want to shoot. It's a physical impossibility.