How to Aim a Gun

This is a discussion on How to Aim a Gun within the Basic Gun Handling & Safety forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; yes, sounds rather basic but indulge me. See link to pic, see if I have it right. This was a Taurus - although I suspect ...

Thread: How to Aim a Gun

How to Aim a Gun

yes, sounds rather basic but indulge me. See link to pic, see if I have it right. This was a Taurus - although I suspect many other guns have sights light these.
    Right? Wrong? Refinements?

The rings represent the target.

Image - TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting
    Attached Images

2. Remove Ads

With my Taurus PT140 (short barrell), I have to aim like the bottom pic to hit target, otherwise, I will hit too low.

My Ruger P95 and SA 1911 A-1, I aim like the top pic.

I am no expert marksman, this is simply how I shoot the guns I own to be able to hit on target.
    And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee.

VIP Member
    It all depends on the range, or distance, as far as the too high, but it looks good to me.
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants."
    Thomas Jefferson

JD
    Administrator
    Quote Originally Posted by possessed View Post
    With my Taurus PT140 (short barrell), I have to aim like the bottom pic to hit target, otherwise, I will hit too low.

My Ruger P95 and SA 1911 A-1, I aim like the top pic.

I am no expert marksman, this is simply how I shoot the guns I own to be able to hit on target.
    That is called 6 o'clock hold, the original XD is to be aimed in this manner as well.

I have to aim my PM45 like the one that says "to high" to hit my intended spot.

Thanks!