Defensive Carry banner

My wife says our house will blow up!

3K views 16 replies 15 participants last post by  TxCommish 
#1 ·
I have been shooting for a couple of years now, but never come across this question. A friend of my wife says that if we have a house fire, the amo stored in the basement will explode and destroy the house.

I store my amo in several metal and plastic amo boxes in the basement next to an outside wall. I have never considered the possibility of unexpected explosion caused by a house fire or otherwise.

If this is a valid concern, what options do I have besides digging a hole in the back yard and storing it underground?

#2 ·
While it can indeed "blow up"... It would take a real house fire to make it happen.. And being in the basement would be the best place for it,. If you can get a fire proof safe to put it in that would be better,.. Think about it,. Have you even been to a bon-fire when some butt-head puts a 22 in the fire or something larger? It isn't like it explodes right away, it takes a bit to get it hot enough to explode the powder,.. I had a fire for hours once when I was camping and all the sudden a shell exploded in the fire,.. . Must have been left over from someone else and didn't explode with my fire for hours,..

#7 ·
Yep.
She's been watching too many westerns.

BTW I have seen a house blow up for real IRL, and it was due to a natural gas leak as piped into the home for heating and cooking.
The results from that was complete obliteration of the structure.

If she's truly worried about the house blowing up then advise her that she'll have to get rid of her stove, ASAP...if it's gas, NG or propane too.
Same goes for the hot water heater and your backyard grill as well if either of those run on gas.
Oh and the cars you guys drive they gotta go as well...Unless it/they are powered by diesel.

- Janq

#5 ·