My wife says our house will blow up!

This is a discussion on My wife says our house will blow up! within the Basic Gun Handling & Safety forums, part of the General Firearm Discussion category; I have been shooting for a couple of years now, but never come across this question. A friend of my wife says that if we ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My wife says our house will blow up!

Post My wife says our house will blow up!

I have been shooting for a couple of years now, but never come across this question. A friend of my wife says that if we have a house fire, the amo stored in the basement will explode and destroy the house.

I store my amo in several metal and plastic amo boxes in the basement next to an outside wall. I have never considered the possibility of unexpected explosion caused by a house fire or otherwise.

If this is a valid concern, what options do I have besides digging a hole in the back yard and storing it underground?

2. Remove Ads

While it can indeed "blow up"... It would take a real house fire to make it happen.. And being in the basement would be the best place for it,. If you can get a fire proof safe to put it in that would be better,.. Think about it,. Have you even been to a bon-fire when some butt-head puts a 22 in the fire or something larger? It isn't like it explodes right away, it takes a bit to get it hot enough to explode the powder,.. I had a fire for hours once when I was camping and all the sudden a shell exploded in the fire,.. . Must have been left over from someone else and didn't explode with my fire for hours,..

Administrator
    No, it wont blow up. That is silliness. They will cook off, thats about it.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Your more likely to be injured/killed by the fire or smoke than the ammo. The shell casings would be flying around but not the lead. This may keep the firefighters at bay if it poses any danger to them. IMO