Just need to brag a minute...

This is a discussion on Just need to brag a minute... within the Bob & Terry's Place forums, part of the The Back Porch category; You know, the saying "Parenting is the hardest job you'll ever love" is deeply and awesomely true. I just had the following text exchange with ...

Like Tree6Likes
  • 5 Post By gilraen
  • 1 Post By Hopyard

Thread: Just need to brag a minute...

Just need to brag a minute...

You know, the saying "Parenting is the hardest job you'll ever love" is deeply and awesomely true.

I just had the following text exchange with my daughter (age 19). (unnecessary stuff removed)

DD: [is taking 4 summer classes, and signing up for fall semester] "I want to get [college] over with as soon as possible. I don't want to be stuck in classes at 27."

Me: [chuckles because I graduated at age 29] "Be wary of burnout. Monitor yourself and adjust accordingly."

DD: "I'm excited for this whole life on my own thing."

Me: "That is normal and welcome. Keep a good head on your shoulders, work hard, and you will do very well."

DD: "That's my plan. :) Thanks, Mom."

One son is a surgical technologist, supporting his small family, and looking for advancement in his field or a neighboring medical field (possibly nursing).

Another son is finishing a history major, and will be applying to law school. He's spending his summer studying for the LSATs.

And my beautiful daughter is going to be a physical therapist, and is dating someone who seems to be a very nice man, polite and helpful.

As a parent, most of us worry like crazy about raising our kids right, worry about their safety, worry about their attitudes about the world and how they'll handle life's slings and arrows, and worry about how well these beloved children will make their way in the world.