Lung cancer

Lung cancer

This is a discussion on Lung cancer within the Bob & Terry's Place forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Well, life has taken a pretty quick turn for us. Two weeks ago, while at work at the hospital, I had continued tingling in right ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree38Likes

Thread: Lung cancer

Distinguished Member Array Chaplain Scott's Avatar

Lung cancer

Well, life has taken a pretty quick turn for us.

Two weeks ago, while at work at the hospital, I had continued tingling in right hand and then my right eye got blurry. I'm no rocket scientist but I know some of the warning signs of a stroke, so I got myself to the emergency room. Did the whole workup thing, blood, CT scan, etc. The Neurologist on-call was a friend and he decided to do a second scan and get a look at my neck & head arteries--this CT caught a lung nodule. So, no stroke, and interestingly enough, when I left the Emergency room, my blurry vision cleared up.

Anyway, yesterday was the PET scan and today met with the Doc.

Bad news--it is lung cancer.

Good news--it looks like it has NOT spread and it looks like we "found it" before it could spread to the surrounding tissue.

So, Monday is CT guided needle biopsy, Tuesday is pre-surgery work-up, Wednesday is the lung surgery.

Most of the time, I'm doing OK, with moments of being scared (both my mother and my only sibling died of lung cancer), and in my job, I've watched lots of folks with cancer die.

But, I'm the Lord's man, and will be HIS until my dying breath, and then I will still be his. I will face this thing straight on, looking it straight in the eyes and beat it to death.

They are saying 8-10 weeks of recovery---lack of range time will suck!!!

I may not be here on DC for a few weeks, starting next week.
    gatorbait51, Recon1342 and stevez like this.
    Scott, US Army 1974-2004