When things don't go as expected, but turn out better.

This is a discussion on When things don't go as expected, but turn out better. within the Bob & Terry's Place forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Today, I was looking forward to taking a deer with the Colt 1911 and a handload that I have been working with for a few ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree67Likes

Thread: When things don't go as expected, but turn out better.

Today, I was looking forward to taking a deer with the Colt 1911 and a handload that I have been working with for a few months. I had the spot picked out, and was ready to go.

Then, a friend from the church I used to attend, put out a request for anyone that knew of a place where her son could go hunting. Turns out , the kid is absolutely crazy about hunting, and has yet to take his first deer. His father has done his best to help the lad, but to no avail.
    Thinking back to my childhood, I could understand his desire, sand before I knew it, had a hunting partner this morning.

I gave him and his dad my spot, and left them alone in the darkness. As I left them, I couldn't get over what a great kid this was. So enthusiastic, carrying his Savage Axis and dressed in the little camo hunting outfit, even in the darkness, I could see his smile, and feel his excitement mixed with anticipation.
    I massed my way through the darkness and found a spot. I had a rifle, but took the Colt out and waited as dark turned to light. I just couldn't get enthusiastic about my own hunt, because I so badly wanted that boy to get his first deer. I watched, as a little six pointer ambled along, within range of my Colt, snicker off the safety , and found his shoulder. But I could not pull the trigger. The deer was headed to the boys area of the woods. I would just have to wait.