Alzheimers

This is a discussion on Alzheimers within the Bob & Terry's Place forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I am embarrassed to say that I have been with this forum just over a year and am now finally visiting this site. I'm even ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alzheimers

Distinguished Member

Alzheimers

I am embarrassed to say that I have been with this forum just over a year and am now finally visiting this site. I'm even more embarrassed because I make my living praying for others. Sigh. Think I'll make this my first stop on DC.
    Long and short, my dad has alzheimers, my mom is moving in with my sis and I fly cross country next week to move my mom's stuff in storage, take the OLD family car cross country with a Uhaul full of heirloom stuff.
    My request is that I am in the process of trying to decide if Georgia, where he is now, or Tucson, where I am is a better fit for my dad. There is tension with my sis as she has taken my folks under her wing for ten years while I'm on the other side of the country. Fair is fair and I need to pony up but my dad is out of it, sleeps most of the time, is in 100 percent assisted living. He would not know Tucson from Tokyo. The amount of work involved to get my dad here is monumental. If the quality of care is the same (which I am about to find out) is it really worth changing docs, insurance, med care, flight restrictions, etc. ?
    And, yes, it looks tacky to be the preacher, telling everyone to sacrifice for others while my sis carries the weight. Nuff said.

2. Remove Ads

Senior Moderator
    It is tough when you live so far from your parents.

Best wishes and prayers with you as you make this difficult choice
    “You can sway a thousand men by appealing to their prejudices quicker than you can convince one man by logic.”

― Robert A. Heinlein,