Yep, I ate that

Yep, I ate that

This is a discussion on Yep, I ate that within the Bushcraft - Primitive Skills - Survival Skills - Camping forums, part of the Related Topics category; This morning, as I ate my way through an expired Ramen cup 'o noodles, I got to thinking about things that would sustain you in ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree227Likes

Thread: Yep, I ate that

Yep, I ate that

This morning, as I ate my way through an expired Ramen cup 'o noodles, I got to thinking about things that would sustain you in a pinch but might not exactly be your first choice in ordinary circumstances. I think we've all heard and seen primitive cuisine featuring bugs, grubs, scorpions or other things, but what is the most shocking, unappealing but perhaps downright useful thing you have personally eaten?

I have little firsthand experience in gathering things from nature (not counting berries or nuts here) but I did consume the better part of a plate of my "pledge meal" once. We were assured that it was all "food" and although I had no trouble keeping it down some of my pledge brothers were not so lucky. Based on that prior experience, I think I could bring myself to eat anything if I needed to survive. I just need to benefit from some first hand knowledge.
    gatorbait51 likes this.
    "I believe there are more instances of the abridgment of the freedom of the people by gradual and silent encroachments of those in power, than by violent and sudden usurpations” – James Madison 1788

VIP Member
    Looking at that title, I thought this was a thread about "potted meat". YIKES ! I ate plenty of it as a kid, but had to choke it down. No more.

I've never been stranded where I had to eat roots, bark, eyeballs, etc.......nor a 100 year old egg.

Just regular stuff around here though it might sound unappealing to some:
    Hog head cheese, calf brains/scrambled eggs, rooster oysters, sour milk (by accident)