got put in my place, feel kinda dumb

This is a discussion on got put in my place, feel kinda dumb within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I went out to the beach/party area looking to make photographs of the spring break scene (I'm majoring in photojournalism and view this as part ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: got put in my place, feel kinda dumb

got put in my place, feel kinda dumb

I went out to the beach/party area looking to make photographs of the spring break scene (I'm majoring in photojournalism and view this as part of my job). It was about 7pm the sun had just gone down and a thick fog had just rolled in. I was minding my own taking photos of the various people milling about acting like, well drunk people. I photographed a crew of (homeless) people playing their instruments. It was all good until one guy, who wasn't part of the group but still a homeless dude, began to harass me and my friends. CONDITION YELLOW! He called my best friend's wife ugly (she's not and I have to commend my friend for restraining himself on that point) and began to follow us down the street. He called us all sorts of names and kept getting in my way, forcing me to go around him. CONDITION ORANGE! I basically ignored him and hoped he would go away because (and I expect to get flamed for this) I wasn't armed, at all. No gun, no OC, no knife. The only "weapon" I had was my $2700 camera, which I'm a little hesitant to smash against someone's face unless I REALLY have to. Luckily force was not required tonight, he gave up after about 3/4 of a block.

So I learned a valuable lesson, which has sealed my commitment to being equipped to defend myself. Because what if, what if he was just a little bit crazier and decided to stab me for ignoring him?
    MA2, USN

When only cops have guns, it's called a "police state". Love your country, but never trust its government.
    -- Robert A. Heinlein.

2. Remove Ads