Tenn law: deadly force - forcible rape or kidnapping

This is a discussion on Tenn law: deadly force - forcible rape or kidnapping within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I can't find anything. I'm an instructor and I should know, but I don't. Now I'm going to find out. Tennessee law allows for the ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tenn law: deadly force - forcible rape or kidnapping

Distinguished Member Array Agave's Avatar

I can't find anything. I'm an instructor and I should know, but I don't. Now I'm going to find out.

Tennessee law allows for the use of deadly force to prevent death or serious bodily injury to yourself or to another person. Not counting Castle issues, the state issued materials say that this is the only justifiable reason to use deadly force.

The question is, "are forcible rape and/or kidnapping items that would be considered serious bodily injury and would legally justify the use to deadly force in order to prevent or terminate?"

Opinions are welcome. Citations, especially Tennessee related ones, are greatly appreciated.
    The preceding post may contain sarcasm; it's just better that way. However, it is still intended with construction and with the Love of my L-rd Y'shua.

NRA Certified Pistol Instructor, Tennessee Certified Instructor

Distinguished Member Array Knightrider's Avatar
    In the state of Michigan, if the person is in fear of their life, you can use deadly force. This is how I look at it, if I was being raped or kidnap, would I think that my life is in danger? My answer would be yes.
    Glock: G22 .40 S&W and G23 .40 S&W Sig Sauer: P938 9mm Smith and Wesson: Model 437 .38 Spl, Model 65 357 Mag, and Sigma SW9VE 9mm

This is my opinion as it applies to other states, but I already know it applies in Missouri.