Range safety - from a different perspective

This is a discussion on Range safety - from a different perspective within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm relatively new to Defensivecarry.com but in my daily review of the posting I have pondered a question. How safe are you at your local ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

I'm relatively new to Defensivecarry.com but in my daily review of the posting I have pondered a question.

How safe are you at your local range? I ask this because I am a member of a local outdoor range. We have keys to the gate and can shoot whenever we want (well, daylight anyway). Most days I shoot at lunchtime (it's only 5 minutes from my office - poor, pitiful me!). Anyway, most days when I am there I am the only one there. Sure, I'm armed, probably with half a dozen guns but while I am shooting I have my back to the driveway and have hearing protection in. Any suggestions?

Here in Georgia a few years back at a public range (national forest) not far from here there was actually a shootout - fortunately, the bad guys all lost.

While shooting ranges (Outdoor) do tend to be somewhat remote by nature, I never have considered myself a "target" for criminals while there. I do keep a wary eye out for others in the area though.

I think breaking into a gun store would be a much easier way to get weapons with a lesser chance of getting shot by someone who is honing their skills at the time. It would take some real stones to try that on someone on a firing line but I am sure it's happened.
    2A is not negotiable

I leave one ready to go on the bench while I fire the other one. In other words always have one ready. True while range is cold you have to unload, but you are then aware what's going on around you. If you are shooting alone, you could leave one hot.
    Hiram25
    You can educate ignorance, you can't fix stupid
    Retired DE Trooper, SA XD40 SC, S&W 2" Airweight