Citizen Patrol - Armed but unarmed

This is a discussion on Citizen Patrol - Armed but unarmed within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I live in Israel and last week I did my first shift on our local citizen patrol. Basically we are a neighborhood watch under the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Citizen Patrol - Armed but unarmed

I live in Israel and last week I did my first shift on our local citizen patrol. Basically we are a neighborhood watch under the auspices of the local police.

The rules for citizen patrols in Israel are definitely different than what I was familiar with in the US. When I lived in New York, I was a NYPD auxiliary police officer. We did not carry guns, just night sticks, and although we carried handcuffs, our powers of arrest were very limited. We were basically eyes and ears for the NYPD.

In Israel, we also don't have police powers but we can make arrests if the perp agrees to remain in custody! In other words, we can ask the perp to remain detained and if they listen, we can keep them "under arrest" until the police arrive. If they run away, we can't really pursue. We have police radios and can communicate with the police and we have to patrol in at least pairs. We can patrol on foot or by car, if we qualify for the driving patrol.

We can carry weapons - I posted a week or so ago that I qualified at the police range by firing a M1 Garand. On my shift, I carried a more modern version of the M1, with a folding stock. When I sign out a weapon, I have to keep it either on my person at all times or in my locked house in a secure location.

But here's the kicker. We are not allowed to carry ammo in the weapon. The police issued me the M1 and two full ammo clips, but I have to patrol with the M1 unloaded. We can only load the ammo if we feel our life is in danger. I know this makes no sense, but no one ever said the government or bureaucracies or supposed to follows rules of logic.