Do you cock?

Do you cock?

This is a discussion on Do you cock? within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been asking myself this question and I would like your input, please. If you hear a noise in your house and you are ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Do you cock?

Do you cock?

I have been asking myself this question and I would like your input, please.

If you hear a noise in your house and you are resigned to checking it out with pistol in hand (double action pistol as that is what I have) do you cock the hammer and leave your finger out of the trigger guard or leave the hammer down and keep your finger out of the trigger guard or something else as you investigate.

I am refering to a situation where you are sure that "somthing is up" like you hear stange voices or crashing sounds or even the dog is going ape.

I am a noob so your insight is greatly appreciated.

Distinguished Member Array BCurry1's Avatar
    I carry a Glock, no hammer to cock.
    Curry

Senior Moderator
    With a DA/SA pistol, I generally do not cock the hammer, but rather shoot the first round DA.

Of course, these days the pistol in the rapid access safe is the 1911, and there is no choice there. It's either cocked and locked, or it's a really expensive, way too short club.

Matt

Glock also,no cock.
    "A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
    - Sir Winston Churchill

1911, always cocked and locked

I don't

I don't cock. In that kind of situation, I prefer the more deliberate pull required for the first shot. Thats just me though. I don't see that it is wrong to cock your weapon if thats what you prefer.

As long as your finger is outside of the trigger guard, cocked or not, it isn't going to go off if you trip on something in the dark.