This is more a general environment question

This is a discussion on This is more a general environment question within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm fairly sure this belongs here. I'm an undergrad in a college town (State College) and there isn't much here to do but drink, fortunately ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: This is more a general environment question

This is more a general environment question

I'm fairly sure this belongs here.

I'm an undergrad in a college town (State College) and there isn't much here to do but drink, fortunately I can't afford those kind of habits. It's important to mention that I find myself carrying less and less now that I am here. This is because about 50% of my time out of the home is on campus, which unfortunately would get me expelled if I were to carry on campus.

There has been an alarming increase in violent crimes this year, although almost none were reported last year, in the past couple months there have been numerous stabbings (5 in one weekend), and hand full of firearms drawn at crowded parties (none discharged) and a lot of assaults. Just last night a friend of mine was jumped by five men, (he is okay for the most part, pretty roughed up, I do not know the details of the fight other than he was drunk so I would assume he isn't free of any blame). Because of this I have been carrying more and more, but feel really uncomfortable in this environment.

I am a musician and I make the majority of my disposable income playing in a cover band at house parties and bars. When I know I will be drinking my guns stay locked at home. With the increase in violence I have been carrying more and drinking less.