Police Officer pulling gun

This is a discussion on Police Officer pulling gun within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I watch the TV show cops quite a bit and I have noticed situations where the Officer pulls or doesn't pull his weapon and have ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Police Officer pulling gun

Police Officer pulling gun

I watch the TV show cops quite a bit and I have noticed situations where the Officer pulls or doesn't pull his weapon and have always wondered at what point does an Officer feel like he needs to pull his gun from his holster?

If you are an officer at what point can you justify pulling your weapon? It seems like to me when the gun is pulled the situation definately gets way more intense.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    Based on Utah law (other states may vary), as a Police Officer, I can always legally --one up-- the use of force continuum. I can "escalate" the situation to stay ahead of the game.

As I said, other responses may vary based on local and state laws, but this is how it works in Utah.
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants."
    Thomas Jefferson

Exactly right. Force continuum give us the authority to go above the resistance encountered.

Whenever we feel a perceived threat to ourself or others. Again locking onto the force continuum.

1.Verbal
    2.Oc spray
    3.Hands on
    4.Non lethal means- Tazer, baton
    5.Firearms
    Note: one can go from stage 1 to stage 5 to get back to stage 1 if the situation dictates.
    One more step and it's on!

When your hackles go up! You have to stay ahead of the game, catch up does not always work.
    Hiram25
    You can educate ignorance, you can't fix stupid
    Retired DE Trooper, SA XD40 SC, S&W 2" Airweight
    dukalmighty & Pure Kustom Black Ops Pro "Trooper" Holsters, DE CCDW and LEOSA Permits, Vietnam Vet 68-69 Pleiku