When do you transfer to deadly force?

This is a discussion on When do you transfer to deadly force? within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Ok, I am brand new to CC. I have had my permit for exactly 30 hours or so. I have taken safety classes, spent a ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree27Likes

Thread: When do you transfer to deadly force?

Ok, I am brand new to CC. I have had my permit for exactly 30 hours or so. I have taken safety classes, spent a lot of time on the range, and have carried my pistol around my yard/house for 2 weeks getting ready to carry live. I have NOT read that much on when deadly force is warranted.

For instance, say I am at a gas station pumping gas and somebody comes up to me looking for trouble (just say I am in the wrong place at the wrong time or maybe a panhandler turned violent). When do I have the right to pull my weapon? I mean, if the person is armed with blade or gun then I know I can shoot, but if they are unarmed but want to fight (and I don't) what are my options? (assuming I can't make it to my vehicle to flee?)

Also, can anyone point me to some good books on the subject? Or websites?

Thanks! Just want to be as responsible and prepared as possible.

2. Remove Ads

As a last resort, after all lesser means have failed or cannot be reasonably employed. When bodily harm to yourself or death is imminent, and you cannot get away. Last resort, last resort, last resort.
    Ignorance is a long way from stupid, but left unchecked, can get there real fast.

TVJ
    I suggest you go directly to the State of Alabama website and look up the Use of Force/Lethal Force laws.

Read them

Re-read them.

Re-re-read them..

And yet again.

Until you know it cold.

Read until you feel the law in your bones.

Your question above is a good one.