Defensive Carry banner

Is ever ok to "just show" your CCW?

6K views 73 replies 45 participants last post by  Mike1956 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Starting off I am new to site and fairly new to CCW:

Standing in line inside store at extremely busy gas station, several people in front of me and many people behind me. Two cash registers aprox 6ft apart, one line for both. Person bulls his way in between people behind me and shelving units till he gets to where I am standing, he stops and tells me that I should go to the register on my right. I explain that there are two people in front of me and I am waiting my turn, he does not touch me because by this time I have moved to my left several feet.

He goes to the register on the right and I to the left. As it works out my side moves at three times the speed of his side so by the time he gets back outside I am well into pumping fuel. Physically he is much larger than I am but at the pump I have my Lab in the truck and son who is pumping fuel, so even though I believe he would have said something, because he was clearly outnumbered he does not.

I was really trying to be overly nice, and was, and I feel that was why nothing further happened.

My question is; had person tried to "do" something outside, is ever ok to "just show" your CCW?

At what point if "person" is apparently not armed is it ok to try and defuse a situation by pulling your CCW, or is it? And if you pull should you call 911?

Thanks for everyone’s help.
Dave

See less See more
#2 ·
You need to seek professional instruction in the proper use of force as it relates to your State. However the short answer to question about exposing your firearm for it's intimidation factor is that you'll most likely get arrested.

#3 ·
Help with situation last night.

I concur, showing a weapon, at least until force has been shown, or a verbal threat of force sufficient to warrant the use of deadly force could be problematic.