Surveyors always meet people with firearms

This is a discussion on Surveyors always meet people with firearms within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Being a land surveyor I have on occasion been threatened by land owners with firearms. Today was a bit different. I was staking a property ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Surveyors always meet people with firearms

Being a land surveyor I have on occasion been threatened by land owners with firearms. Today was a bit different. I was staking a property line behind a country house when the lady of the house appeared on the deck. Now of course I was surveying the adjoining piece and made the assumption that the neighbor wasn't home. Well she was and when she came out she called to me and let me know she was armed...which she was, with a 38 Special. She did not have it pointed at me but she did show it to me. In this case I should not have assumed that no one was home. I went on to explain to her what I was doing and we had a friendly conversation and she even offered us water. I apologized for not announcing my presence and went on to tell her I had a 38 just like hers...which I do. I also told her that I carried a 40SW with me into the woods (lions and tigers and bears).

This was a problem I caused by not making my presence known and she knew she did not have to draw a bead on me to get my attention, just wiggle and motion towards the pistol. All went well this time. Her being armed did not bother me in the least, even though I was the subject of her concern. I understood that she was exercising a right to protect herself.

Another hot, humid, and happy day as a land surveyor.
    mcgyver210, Poseidon and mano3 like this.

VIP Member
    S. Florida, north of the Miami mess, south of the Mouse trap