the double standard???

This is a discussion on the double standard??? within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Fellows, I am in no sense an authority on guns or self-defense. I carry a gun because I am NOT a hero, but I do ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: the double standard???

Member Array chiefs-special-guy's Avatar

the double standard???

Fellows,
    I am in no sense an authority on guns or self-defense. I carry a gun because I am NOT a hero, but I do believe I have an obligation to protect those entrusted to me- my wife, my children, and those who cannot defend themselves. For me this is an obligation from Christ, and I have to rely on Him to help me do what I have to. He will help me, so I am not worried, but I know I am not an expert or a warrior. Just an average guy.
    When I first got my permit, I took a gun course taught by our county sheriff and an NRA certified instructor, very experienced men. One thing that came out in the course bothered me. First, the sheriff, who I know and greatly respect, said that, legally speaking, the rules of deadly force are not really different for his deputies and citizens- the issue is imminent threat of death or grave harm. Later, i asked him this: suppose I have a deadly encounter, and I have to shoot someone, who dies as a result. Should I expect to be arrested when the deputies get there? He said "yes". Well, I didn't follow up and ask him if he arrested his officers when they shot someone. Of course they do not do that. So the rules are not equal, so far as I can tell. Now, I do trust him to be fair and act lawfully, so I suppose in the end the citizen who shots someone for good reasons will prevail, and be released. But apparently he/she should expect to be arrested for murder, unlike a deputy who must shoot a suspect. What do you guys think of this?? Double standard? It seems like it to me.
    God Bless.