OC vs exposing a CC?!

This is a discussion on OC vs exposing a CC?! within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to carry however I need some clarification on this issue. TN is an open or CC state with permit. I was speaking ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: OC vs exposing a CC?!

OC vs exposing a CC?!

I am new to carry however I need some clarification on this issue. TN is an open or CC state with permit.
    I was speaking to a neighbor who is a LEO that supports CC rights. He was telling me about a man who approached some teens smashing property in an open detached garage at his home. The man was carrying iwb. The man yelled from afar to stop and get out of here. The teens began approaching the man talking amongst themselves about beating him up. The man moved his jacket back to reach for his gun. Placed his hand on the grip and said something along the lines of "you need to get the ........ out of here". The teens seeing the gun scattered. The man called the police and asked for an officer to come out. Apparently a parent of one of the teens called police as well after hearing a very different story. when the cops came a neighbor had heard the whole thing and verified the man's story.

The CC was arrested for threatening the teens with a gun.

After some discussion with my LEO neighbor he advised that had the man been open carrying that would not have been the case. The problem is he exposed a gun he was concealing in order to threaten. If the gun was clearly visible it would have been no different than if the gun was not present.

I am having some trouble understanding why that makes any difference. If 3 capable teens are coming towards you telling you they intend to cause bodily harm, why is it an issue to prepare to use force?

2. Remove Ads