Defensive Carry banner

Restaurant Burglary- What Should I Do?

5K views 35 replies 29 participants last post by  rjinga 
#1 ·
First off, just wanted to say that this is a great forum where I have found a ton of useful information! Great place to be!

Now on to the scenerio. I am a college student who has a carry permit, and carries daily everywhere I go (where legal). I am also a manager at a fast food restaurant. As a manager, usually the night manager, I have the duties of closing down the store, counting down the drawers and safe, cleaning the store, and overseeing a crew of about 5-6 people on my shift. As a manager, I have a responsibility to keep my employees safe as well as any customers who may be in the store. We are located in a fairly nice part of town, and are a fairly "nice" fast food restaurant, and in my 3 years of working here I have always felt safe. That being said, several businesses not far from us have been robbed recently, and that got me thinking. If someone came in and wanted to rob the restaurant, making it clear that they have a gun, how should I handle it? I always carry while I am at work, but I also know it's practically impossible to draw on someone who has already drawn down on you. Should I give them the money and hope they run and then call the police? Or should I try to defend myself and my crew members? Our registers can only be opened through either a transaction or a manager's override card. The safe code is also only known by managers. So I would be the one to handle the situation if he wanted money, since I would be the only one who could give it to him. I was just curious and wanted to know ya'lls opinions and viewpoints on how I should handle this if the situation ever arises. I understand that I should not try to be a hero and save the day, but I also want to protect myself and the lives of my crew and customers. Thanks for your advice!

Thomas

See less See more
#3 ·