Nothing bad happened, but I was glad I was carrying

This is a discussion on Nothing bad happened, but I was glad I was carrying within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am pretty new to handgun ownership. I have submitted all my CHL info and awaiting my license. In Texas, I can carry concealed at ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: Nothing bad happened, but I was glad I was carrying

I am pretty new to handgun ownership. I have submitted all my CHL info and awaiting my license. In Texas, I can carry concealed at my place of business, which I do own. So, I’ve been debating carrying there, and today decided I would carry my very concealable .38 spcl S&W snub-nose revolver (637 "Wyatt Deep Cover").

Around 3 in the afternoon, a strange little incident happened. An employee I had fired some time ago, appeared in the reception area asking to speak to me. I hadn’t seen her in the 12 years since, but when I fired her, she wasn’t very happy about it, called me some names and made a parting "joke" to one of my employees about how her husband’s "motorcycle gang was going to beat me up.”

About a month ago, this same previous employee had been in the parking lot asking for me, not saying why. She told a current employee that she was out of work, had been living in her car, and had spent 49 days in jail for assaulting her husband! So, I’d been having some extra SA in the parking lot, but hadn’t worried too much about it and wasn’t thinking about it all today.

So when she showed up today, people got more than a little nervous. I have to admit I was feeling some adrenaline, but also felt the added security of the gun on my hip. Just to make matters more exciting, the employee she talked to up front was telling me, “she’s carrying a big purse…” As in “could be a gun in there."