Rendering aid after a self defense shooting?

This is a discussion on Rendering aid after a self defense shooting? within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; After seeing all that stuff going on with Byron Smith and how he shot himself in the foot in many regards and shooting after they ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree40Likes

Thread: Rendering aid after a self defense shooting?

Rendering aid after a self defense shooting?

After seeing all that stuff going on with Byron Smith and how he shot himself in the foot in many regards and shooting after they were incapacitated was one of those ways. I've been asked if I would render aid to a bad guy if I had to shoot to remove the threat and my answer is a resounding yes. I'm a paramedic so it's in my nature to want to help anyway but this seems like it could be a slippery slope.
    I just wonder if it could be seen as I wasn't really fearful if I could shoot someone and then be comfortable plugging the holes until EMS arrives. I would certainly take the time to restrain if the BG was conscious or had any chance of regaining consciousness prior to getting that close.
    gloves12 and Phaedrus like this.
    ... evil will always triumph because good is dumb! - Dark Helmet

2. Remove Ads

If I am going to shoot someone it will resemble nothing of the Byron Smith case. And in short my answer is no. I am not placing myself in a position in which I am "helping" someone out and then have to shoot them again when their felonious behavior acts up again. That being said, I'm not a paramedic either so I think that both of us would be better off letting the professionals handle it anyway. And if this person comes out of it alive that's all fine and dandy, but they will also have charges pressed on them as far as I can take them.
    TVJ likes this.
    Vietnam Vets, WELCOME HOME