Man kidnaps and rapes estranged wife who is also a Sheriff's Deputy

This is a discussion on Man kidnaps and rapes estranged wife who is also a Sheriff's Deputy within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I came across this article in my local newspaper, the Colorado Springs Gazette. The article covers the trial and conviction of the man who kidnapped ...

I came across this article in my local newspaper, the Colorado Springs Gazette. The article covers the trial and conviction of the man who kidnapped and raped his estranged wife. I thought this article was interesting because the woman was also a Sheriff's Deputy.

To the Mods, I'm relatively new to this so if this is not the right section for posting, please move it and accept my apologies.

Springs man guilty of raping estranged wife
    By ANTHONY LANE THE GAZETTE
    March 24, 2007 - 12:58AM

A Colorado Springs man was convicted Friday night of kidnapping his estranged wife, driving her miles away at gunpoint and then raping her.

Jurors deliberated about seven hours before finding Jaime Duran, 33, guilty of felony kidnapping, rape, violating a restraining order and menacing. The kidnapping conviction carries a mandatory life sentence without parole when Duran is sentenced in June.

The trial lasted nearly two weeks as prosecutors presented evidence about Duran stalking and threatening his wife before kidnapping her from her driveway June 26 as she returned home from work.

The woman, an El Paso County sheriff’s deputy, testified it was the most terrifying night of her life. Her two young daughters, her mother and other family members were waiting inside when Duran approached her, she testified.

“I was thinking I can’t make a scene here because my family will come out and they’ll get shot,” she said.
    The Gazette typically does not identify sexual-assault victims.