Gun vault bio-fingerprint - hard to work?

This is a discussion on Gun vault bio-fingerprint - hard to work? within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; In my CCW class we discussed options for securing your weapon(s) at home that allows for reasonbly quick access and several people recommended one of ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gun vault bio-fingerprint - hard to work?

In my CCW class we discussed options for securing your weapon(s) at home that allows for reasonbly quick access and several people recommended one of the new bio-technology safes (reads your fingerprint). Maybe I'm just new at this but I cannot seem to get it open more than 1 in 10 tries. Is it because my fingers are dry with a callus here and there? Is this technology bad? Do I need to be wiping off the fingerprint window after each use?

Thanks

I just do not trust electronics with my defensive weapons. If there is a problem like you are having or any other electrical malfunction, then you are sitting there with no way to defend yourself. They have several pushbutton combination safes that are just as fast or faster that are less likely to fail.
    Glock 27
    BENELLI NOVA

Distinguished Member Array SixBravo's Avatar
    Biometrics are designed to do just what the name says: measure your body or an aspect of it. The problem is that when you are under duress or pressure then your body changes and thus it can become harder to get access to something requiring that security. Now I am certainly not an expert on the matter but that would seem to be a hurdle with the problem except with much more expensive models.
    The Gunsite Blog
    ITFT / Quick Kill Review
    "It is enough to note, as we have observed, that the American people have considered the handgun to be the quintessential self-defense weapon." - Justice Scalia, SCOTUS - DC v Heller - 26 JUN 2008