Stranger opened door and started into my car.

This is a discussion on Stranger opened door and started into my car. within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; This occurred around 1977. I was a broadcast engineer at the local TV station. Myself and the on air operations director had just signed the ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Stranger opened door and started into my car.

Stranger opened door and started into my car.

This occurred around 1977. I was a broadcast engineer at the local TV station. Myself and the on air operations director had just signed the station off and headed home. The operations guy lived in a fairly bad part of town, and had no vehicle, so I sometimes gave him a ride home, if his girlfriend couldn't pick him up after work. On this one occasion, I had dropped him off, somewhere around 1:30 AM and had stopped at a traffic light. My friend hadn't locked the passenger door when he exited, so when a BG? stepped up to that side of my 67 Mustang, he opened the door and started to climb in. MY S&W model 19 was on the dashboard, and I grabbed it, thumbed back the hammer and pointed it at the center of his forehead, His eyes got about the size of saucers, and he said' "wrong car" before exiting and closing the door. I ran the red light and left. Two things I know I did wrong. First, I didn't insist that my friend lock the passenger door, when he exited, and secondly, I wasn't situationally aware of what was happening around me as I sat waiting for the light to change at an otherwise deserted intersection. I supposed that if the possible BG had called the police, I would have at best been guilty of brandishing. This was long before CCW in Va. anyone got any opinions? Even back then I was a firm believer in the "better judged by 12 than carried by 6 theory.

2. Remove Ads

Senior Member Array TheGreatGonzo's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by celticredneck View Post