Defensive Carry banner

Possible Highway Ambush...

3K views 31 replies 29 participants last post by  Ridgeline 
#1 ·
First of all I'd like to say hi to everyone since I'm new to this forum, the guys over at XDTalk.com had great things to say about this site... I'm proud to be a member! :smile:

Next I'll share with y'all that I'm a new (and proud) Michigan CPL holder as of this fall! My current (soon to be daily) carry gun is the XD9 Service with TruGlo sights and Lasermax, love the gun and will soon be loving my CrossBreed Supertuck once it arrives.

Okay, now for my story that just happened an hour ago... thought I'd share with you all. A little background, I'm a restaurant equipment repair technician that spends long hours on the road between service calls. I'm often returning after midnight on county and state roads and driving alone in a 1-ton white commercial service van. Tonite the snow had been falling for a couple hours and there was 4-6" on the roads with no car tracks for at least an hour. I was headed down a frequently used county road (straight stretch at least 8 miles long) about 45 mph when a black late model pickup passed me going very slowly. I had seen the headlights in the distance for what seemed like a very long time, yet thought nothing of it at first.

Another 3/4 mile down the road I saw a large, indistinct object blocking the road and approaching fast, as I drew closer I saw it was a complete pine tree lying on its side across both lanes! It had about 5' of branches at the base and about 2' at the tip. I braked hard on the snowy road and avoided most of the tree and stopped just the edge of the 3' tall snow bank. I quickly turned on my front & rear strobe lights and backed up to survey the situation... here's where the ***** hits the fan. :ahhhhh: