the scenario that troubles me

This is a discussion on the scenario that troubles me within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new at this so thank you for your patience. There is a scenario that has been on my mind lately as I wait ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: the scenario that troubles me

I am new at this so thank you for your patience. There is a scenario that has been on my mind lately as I wait for my concealed carry license. I've taken the time to read many posts that relate to this but would still benefit from any further comments on the subject. I feel like I understand that when things are imminently grave, I can justifiably unholster my gun ( like if the assailant has a weapon, if I'm outnumbered, or if the assailant is significantly bigger than me )

The situation that I'm concerned about that I am unsure if the law is really on my side or not is this:

I'm 5'10" and weigh 160 lbs and am slim though not scrawny. If I may, a man who is bigger than me but not significantly ( like maybe outweighs me by 20 or 30lbs ) looks strong, and is angry and is coming at me to do me physical harm. He hasn't verbally stated he wants to kill me or even that he is about to pound my head in but nonetheless you know he appears to desire to do you harm physically. To be accurate, let's assume that I have not provoked this man ( maybe I was unaware I cut him off in traffic and at a gas station I'm at he jumps out of his car and comes at me yelling general curses at me). Will the law,as you understand it, allow me to unholster my pistol and warn him that if he doesn't stop, I will stop him (shoot). OR, does the law paraphrase that I better learn some hand to hand combat skills until I'm within an inch of my life or I better hope my pepper spray stops this man? I truly appreciate the input.

VIP Member