Should you draw your gun as a back up?

This is a discussion on Should you draw your gun as a back up? within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Not sure why I thought this up, but I would like some opinions. This has not happened, but I am just trying to think through ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Should you draw your gun as a back up?

VIP Member Array ExactlyMyPoint's Avatar

Should you draw your gun as a back up?

Not sure why I thought this up, but I would like some opinions. This has not happened, but I am just trying to think through various scenarios.

I am a software contractor. Say I am at a customer site and meeting with a few people in a large conference room. I am carrying, but since I am not an employee, I don't even bother to ask if it is OK to carry on the premises so I am not even sure of the official policy. (Different thread) All of a sudden a "disgruntled" former employee bursts into the room with a very large knife and threatens to kill the manager who "fired" him. Everyone moves to make some distance. In the meantime, some one else in the room pulls his gun and takes control of the situation. He yells in a command voice to the disgruntled man to drop the knife. The guy is not obeying and starts making threatening gestures and moves.

At this point you have not drawn your weapon. That one guy seems to be have taken the lead in this situation. Do you draw your weapon as a back up?
    Preparing for the Zombie Apocalypse or Rapture....whichever comes first.

2. Remove Ads

In that sort of situation, it would be very easy for the guy with the already drawn gun to see yours and assume you are a threat.

It's hard to tell what I would do in that situation, but I do know my thought patterns and I think that my thoughts would be:

1) Maintain distance discreetly (meaning no quick moves) and preferably move with my back to the wall so nobody else can see my weapon.