Need help writing about high profile shoot outs (long)

This is a discussion on Need help writing about high profile shoot outs (long) within the Carry & Defensive Scenarios forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First off, some background: I am an maritime law enforcement officer. One of the many parts of my job is policing a large seaport in ...

Thread: Need help writing about high profile shoot outs (long)

Need help writing about high profile shoot outs (long)

First off, some background:

I am an maritime law enforcement officer. One of the many parts of my job is policing a large seaport in a third world country. In our jurisdiction, violent incidents are relatively common, but rarely involve firearms. Still, shooting incidents tend to happen every couple of years or so.

My unit (and the entire force, actually) has an absolutely horrible policy regarding firearms. Just to give you an idea:

- Junior enlisted personnel are not allowed to own or carry firearms off-duty. They just go to work each morning, grab their gear from the armory, and then turn it in. So, if they donīt personally own guns (and few of them do), they simply canīt get any extra training.

- Firearms qualifications are yearly. Each man is required to shoot 24 rounds of .38 or .357 at 15 meters, and thatīs about it. Some of them canīt even hit a man-sized target shooting simple action. If it were up to me, I wouldnīt give guns to most of the unit, including some commissioned officers.