Would inform LEO??

Would inform LEO??

This is a discussion on Would inform LEO?? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a Oregon resident and CC in Washington State using my Utah permit...Washington does not require you to inform an a LEO during a ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Would inform LEO??

Would inform LEO??

I am a Oregon resident and CC in Washington State using my Utah permit...Washington does not require you to inform an a LEO during a traffic stop that ur carrying...In my home state of Oregon they know as soon as they run my license..,so I hand over my permit with my license...But I am thinking if pulled over in Washington I should just keep my mouth shut...The reason being I am betting that most LEO's won't know that a Utah permit is good in WA and could cause me a big hassle....Opinion welcome...

thanks

Dan

i dont inform unless required by law
    S&W M&P40/M&P9c OC rigs
    S&W 640-1 or Sig P238 as a CC rig
    proud www.georgiacarry.org member
    Second Amendment Foundation Life member

Carry (credible) paperwork showing that Washington recognizes Utah permits. Keep it in the glove box or such. A printout of this (Concealed Weapon Reciprocity) page might be ideal. Might also print out the underlying law: RCW 9.41.073: Concealed pistol license ? Reciprocity.

If the officer asks you whether you've got any weapons on you, he'll freak out if you don't give an immediate "no." The time to notify and explain is before you get to that point. Good luck!

VIP Member
    Tough call in your case. Here in Arizona we're not required to inform although I now have second thoughts on the issue. I have read of several cases here on the forum, whereby the citizen seemingly benefited by volunteering the permit during a stop. I plan on handling future decisions based on the reason for the stop and attitude of the LEO.