Charter Arms .38 undercover from '63

This is a discussion on Charter Arms .38 undercover from '63 within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to DC and I recently got my ccw in Fl; originally from IL. My wife now wants her ccw. Problem is, my carry ...

Thread: Charter Arms .38 undercover from '63

Charter Arms .38 undercover from '63

I'm new to DC and I recently got my ccw in Fl; originally from IL. My wife now wants her ccw. Problem is, my carry is a Charter Arms .38 undercover I bought in '63 while in the Corps. I still have 158 gr 38 spl Remington loads which I'm reluctant to use. She likes the feel of the CA but I'm not comfortable sending to the safety/training class with them. I believe I should upgrade my CA to a Ruger LCR, Kahr CW9 (for me) or S&W 642. My questions are; are the loads from '63 safe or should I lose them; and since she "doesn't like guns that eject" would the LCR or the 642 be better for her. She got that phobia from her first husband 30 years ago.

2. Remove Ads

Welcome from Southwestern Virginia.

I have an LCR and a Kahr CW9. I love them both. The LCR is my primary carry gun, that is until I can get my hands on a PM9. I was considering a S&W 642 but I like the Ruger LCR much better. The grip is a lot more comfortable and absorbs more of the recoil I think. The trigger on the LCR .. well there is nothing like it in my opinion. Smooth like butter. Can't go wrong with either the LCR or the CW9.
    NRA Member
    Glock 26 XD9sc
    Ruger SR9c Ruger LCP

VIP Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Rayz View Post