Texas CCW Instructors

This is a discussion on Texas CCW Instructors within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am in the Navy currently stationed in GA. I am a legal resident of Texas. I know that the fee for a CHL in ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Texas CCW Instructors

Texas CCW Instructors

I am in the Navy currently stationed in GA. I am a legal resident of Texas. I know that the fee for a CHL in TX for active military is $0, but as far as I can tell I still need to take a course from a certified CHL course instructor in TX and do the fingerprint cards and all that in TX. I tried to contact TX DPS with questions and never got an answer. If anyone knows of any exceptions, and where to find them in writing, for active military to this please enlighten me. Anyway, the reason for my post is to find a certified instructor in the area north of Dallas/Ft. Worth and between Wichita Falls and Sherman/Denison so that the next time I am home I can take the course. The certified instructor list is currently not available on the TX DPS website and hasn't been for some time now. Also, what kind of fee do the instructors usually charge for their course?

2. Remove Ads

Yep, you will have to take the class from a qualified instructor.

Around here the fee is usually between 100 and 150. Some classes offer all the fingerprints, ect, some make you get that stuff done elsewhere.

Being military, some may give you a discount.
    Just remember that shot placement is much more important with what you carry than how big a bang you get with each trigger pull.
    www.ddchl.com
    Texas CHL Instructor
    Texas Hunter Education Instructor
    NRA Instructor

Quote Originally Posted by lskinner4 View Post