Seeing the light (dimly)

This is a discussion on Seeing the light (dimly) within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; The older of my younger brothers and his wife have a "gun free" home. To me that's a little like an "insurance free" home, but ...

Thread: Seeing the light (dimly)

Seeing the light (dimly)

The older of my younger brothers and his wife have a "gun free" home. To me that's a little like an "insurance free" home, but hey, it's their home, not mine.

A couple years ago, he came out with his kids (left the wife at home) to Colorado and I took them camping along with my kids in the back country. Out there, you are your own 911. We were two hours of off-roading from the nearest cell signal. We had extra food and water, basic first aid supplies (I'm a former EMT), satellite phone, 2 GPS, paper map, 2 compasses....and my 4" S&W 629. I'm a contingency planner, what can I say. Yes, we were camping out of a pair of Jeeps, not backpacking.

Since his kids had no introduction to gun safety, when we got there (I had it concealed to this point), I showed them my 4" 629, let them touch it (unloaded) and talked with them about how they shouldn't touch it without asking and that they can ask any time they are curious. I explained that it was very unlikely we'd have any kind of a problem where I would need it, but that I had it, just in case, to keep them safe from angry animals, or anything else that might threaten them.

My brother's six-year-old daughter immediately turned to him with a little concern and said, "How come we don't have a gun?" I loved it! Bright girl.