Issue with mag release while carrying

This is a discussion on Issue with mag release while carrying within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am relatively new to carrying and most of my experience so far is a Kel Tec P3AT in a Desantis pocket holster due to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Issue with mag release while carrying

I am relatively new to carrying and most of my experience so far is a Kel Tec P3AT in a Desantis pocket holster due to my work attire. I have only been able to take out my Kahr CW9 a handful of times. Here's what happened over the weekend.

So I'm out to eat with my parents, wife and sister for a early Mother's Day meal Saturday evening and I've got my Kahr in a Crossbreed Supertuck. I'm a skinny guy so I have to position the Supertuck a little around towards my back with the gun between the 4 and 5 o'clock area. So our food comes and I sit up straight with my back against the hard back chair and I hear "click." I'm wondering what the click was and wondering if anyone else heard it and I look around and no one seems to have noticed. So I act like I'm scratching my back and when check the gun it feels like the mag isn't all the way in. I press it and sure enough it snaps back in.

I can't really wear the supertuck anywhere else do to my build and I like the comfort of it there so I'm considering drilling a hole where the mag release presses against the holster. Has anyone else had any trouble with this?

Hiding inside a bottle of Jim Beam Black in S. FL.
    I've heard of holster causing the mags to release, and it can be the holster's fault, the gun's fault, or a combo.
    Might be time for a slight "nip & tuck." I'd chamfer the edges if I did so that the mag release didn't snag on the hole edges.
    Retired USAF E-8. Lighten up and enjoy life because: