My experience Saturday with the NRA class (long)

This is a discussion on My experience Saturday with the NRA class (long) within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Well after months of thinking about it ,I finally went thru the course Sat. I want to express my opinions (My opinions) and perspective on ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My experience Saturday with the NRA class (long)

My experience Saturday with the NRA class (long)

Well after months of thinking about it ,I finally went thru the course Sat.
    I want to express my opinions (My opinions) and perspective on the class.
    I am not unexperienced with firearms. Been shooting for 30+ years.
    I went thru the Ohio Peace officers training and was certified in revolver 20 years ago.
    I have owned ,shot, and dismantled many firearms.
    With that said, Im not an expert or do I know it all ,nor am I the worlds best shot.
    As far as the class goes my instructor was OK, not the best ...not the worst. On a scale of 1-10 ten being the best I would say she was a 7.
    I do have a couple concerns that I will bring up and ask that you post your thoughts on them as well.
    First lets talk about the guns used for certification. IMO I dont believe that you should be able to use a 22 to qualify unless that is the gun youre going to carry.
    There were many in my class that brought 22 autos to shoot, but I doubt they will carry for personal protection.
    This would be hard to regulate but I think they are being served a(as well as the public) an injustice by letting them train with a gun they will never carry (theres a BIG difference in shooting a 22 auto and a 9MM or a sbub 38.)
    This seems to nbe happening more and more and Ive heard comments that "oh just take a 22 and you'll ace the course"
    We shot at 15 ft and 24 feet at a paper plate.
    The is not a tuff distance with most combat handguns.