Had my justification for violating work policy

This is a discussion on Had my justification for violating work policy within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; To summarize the encounter... I am a field service technician for a concrete paving company. I often work alone in isolated areas. Company "Verbal" policy ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Had my justification for violating work policy

Had my justification for violating work policy

To summarize the encounter...

I am a field service technician for a concrete paving company. I often work alone in isolated areas. Company "Verbal" policy is no weapons (not in print in our employee handbook). I obey the law, and disregard work policy in matters of my personal safety, ergo I carry all day, every day.

For the last year and a half, my company has either had a bad stretch of poor choices in hiring, has gone willy-nilly firing red-hats (managers, foreman, supervisors...) or going old school and making life so miserable that they quit.

Thursday I was talking to one of the dirt crew foreman who was on his last couple of days since putting in his notice. He was one of those that had their life made miserable & quit. I noticed a couple of shotgun shells in the back of his pickup and jokingly said, "Have you been taking shots at the low flying geese?"

His response - "Nah. I always have a gun though. The shotgun is not in there, but I always have my pistol. Screw what (safety manager) said at the meeting. I always carry it. These days, you never know."