My LEO Experience - Springfield, MO

This is a discussion on My LEO Experience - Springfield, MO within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've read all the previous experiences by folks here in their encounter w/LEO from various areas of the country. I thought that I'd share my ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My LEO Experience - Springfield, MO

My LEO Experience - Springfield, MO

I've read all the previous experiences by folks here in their encounter w/LEO from various areas of the country. I thought that I'd share my pleasant experience.

I'm an Arkansas resident who drove up to see my folks near Wheatland, MO. My three kids were with me, w/Wife staying behind for a wedding of a former student to which she'd been invited to attend. I drove up US65 from the Little Rock area and made pretty good time. I usually drive the speed limit plus 5 to 7 over, depending on the roads and traffic. Most of the drive thru Arkansas is on single-lane roads thru heavy hill country, so whenever it's safe to do so, I'll go a bit over, as mentioned.

Anyhow, once I got up to the Branson area, I ended up getting slowed down a bit due to the volume of traffic. The slow-down frustrated me somewhat, but once we got thru to the North end of Springfield, traffic lightened up so I was able to get back up to the speed limit, plus 5 to 7. However, once I got clear of the bulk of traffic, I sped up a bit more than that w/o realizing it.

So, I'm cruising along and spy a black & white in the oncoming lane of traffic (this is two-lane). He immediately shifts lanes to the inside land, which tips me off that something wasn't quite right - and so I looked down at my speed-o-meter. I was gover right about 80mph.