SC question on informing LEOs.

This is a discussion on SC question on informing LEOs. within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; From time to time I like to shoot the bull with cops. Asking things like how has crime been locally, do you like what you ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SC question on informing LEOs.

From time to time I like to shoot the bull with cops. Asking things like how has crime been locally, do you like what you carry, and such. Most enjoy talking to a person thats not a scumbag. However, now that I have my ccw are the rules changed???

a permit holder must inform a law enforcement officer of the fact that he is a permit holder and present the permit identification card when an officer (1) identifies himself as a law enforcement officer and (2) requests identification or a driver's license from a permit holder.
    I am not a lawyer, I do not play one on TV. I read that to say if he asks you for identification, you have to inform him... but not until he asks for ID.

ID's self as LEO AND requests ID from you.

So a routine "how's the weather" type conversation does not fall into the Must Inform category

SECTION 23-31-215

(K) A permit holder must have his permit identification card in his possession whenever he carries a concealable weapon. When carrying a concealable weapon pursuant to Article 4 of Chapter 31 of Title 23, a permit holder must inform a law enforcement officer of the fact that he is a permit holder and present the permit identification card when an officer (1) identifies himself as a law enforcement officer and (2) requests identification or a driverís license from a permit holder. A permit holder immediately must report the loss or theft of a permit identification card to SLED headquarters. A person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined twenty five dollars.