Did my CPL class stink?

This is a discussion on Did my CPL class stink? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I certainly think so, but I'd like to get a consensus. Hi All, I'm a newbie/lurker on this site. The info here is incredible, and ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Did my CPL class stink?

Did my CPL class stink?

I certainly think so, but I'd like to get a consensus.

Hi All,
    I'm a newbie/lurker on this site. The info here is incredible, and I'm just plain ol impressed with the quality of your posts & comments all over this forum. I'm glad to jump aboard.

I just took my CPL class and logged my application & prints into the county queue (!!!). I'm rather bothered about the class, and here's how it went...

Instructor #1 - retired/part-time LEO of some sort doing detective work

Instructor #2 - retired quiet guy doing part-time firearm training for LEOs.

8AM to 11:30AM
    Aside from filling out forms and adding our names to various lists, Instructor #1 lead us through 3 hours of Powerpoint slides. Reading the bullet points and making comments about each. First explaining old common-law, then explaining new laws that were an attempt to mesh with the old common law. I was very attentive, wanting to gobble all this up and walk out much smarter. However, it became so confusing that I now am very confused on when I can shoot. He did make it Very clear that only when there's a clear possibility of
    1. death
    2. great bodily harm (bones sticking out)
    3. rape (1st or 3rd degree)
    Other than that...its very foggy to me. Glad I got the NRA book to take home & plan on studying it.
    Are 3 hours of very boring Powerpoint slides common?

12:30PM - 1PM
    Finished up Powerpoint slides after explaining self defense in the home - clear as mud. Then an explanation of different types of ammo and how they are made (i did like that part).

1PM - 2PM