College Student and LEO

This is a discussion on College Student and LEO within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a full-time college student and also a certified law enforcement officer. I have been trying to find if I am exempt from the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: College Student and LEO

College Student and LEO

I am a full-time college student and also a certified law enforcement officer. I have been trying to find if I am exempt from the schools no weapon policy, as I am usually carrying a concealed weapon when I am off duty. I have not carried my weapon into the school yet and I have not approached the staff at the school yet. I wanted to see what, if any, laws would prohibit this.

Thanks.

Didymus

2. Remove Ads

I would think this situation has probably occured before and you should probably ask your Captain or his superior for a ruling/law.

Check your local laws. In OK LEOs are only exempt from school carry preclusions if they are carrying while performing their duties.
    My blog

WARNING: This post may contain material offensive to those who lack wit, humor, common sense and/or supporting factual or anecdotal evidence. All statements and assertions contained herein may be subject to literary devices not limited to: irony, metaphor, allusion and dripping sarcasm.

There is Federal law prohibiting carrying of a gun in a primary or secondary educational institution. The Federal law does not prohibit carry on a college campus. You will need to check your local state laws to see whether or not such carry is prohibited. Some states explicitly allow such carry (e.g., Utah comes to my mind), some states explicitly ban carry, and some states (e.g., Kentucky) are rather silent on the matter -- with conflicting statutes. Regardless, check with handgunlaw.us for your exact case.

In addition to the above, department policy must be considered.

VIP Member