Defensive Carry banner

Movement

4K views 44 replies 19 participants last post by  Roger Phillips 
#1 ·
I read alot here about movement when training, how many move foward and sidward when training? I read about people moving back and to the side or to the side, but when engaging a threat my opinion (YMMV) is to "push" the target. Move foward and to the side. Sometimes "cover" isn't a option and you need to deal with the threat in a somewhat open space, and moving back makes it harder for you to get shots in that count. How do you train?

#2 ·
First, I'm no expert. But I would think that it would depend on the situation, with the majority of the time moving away or to the side. Distance from the threat is your friend. Moving whatever direction to cover is best of course.

#3 ·
TonyW said:
Distance from the threat is your friend.
This is only true cause it makes the threat harder to hit you, but it also makes it harder for you to hit the threat.

#4 ·
Glockman17 said:
This is only true cause it makes the threat harder to hit you, but it also makes it harder for you to hit the threat.
Every situation is different. Is the attacker armed with a firearm? What about a knife, a baseball bat, does he appear under the influence, in an incoherent rage, how is he moving, is he acting alone or is there the potential for others with him. Is there a chance gaining distance will allow me to disengage and flee? You just can't generalize. Some situations may demand distance others I may want a forward oblique move. What about if I've got family members I'm protecting, that changes everything. What if one of my family is hit and down and on and on. You have to sum up everything very, very fast and act accordingly not based on a one size fits all theory.

Eric

#5 ·
ELCruisr said: