Question about Ohio

Question about Ohio

This is a discussion on Question about Ohio within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Here's the situation I've been running through my head lately: I'm a regional truck driver (less than 500 miles from home normally that is) and ...

Thread: Question about Ohio

Question about Ohio

Here's the situation I've been running through my head lately:

I'm a regional truck driver (less than 500 miles from home normally that is) and I carry a pistol on me while out on the road (Legal in all of the states I travel in on my permit,except for Illinois of course.)

The last three weeks, I've been going in and out of Columbus, Ohio. I know I have to notify LEO if I'm carrying, so thats where my question comes from.

If I pull into a weigh station, and am ordered to park and bring my paperwork inside, I already know I'll disarm as well as remove my spare magazines before going in, but do I need to notify that there's a firearm in my truck if they're not inspecting it as well?

Basically, if I'm not carrying, I know I don't need to notify when I'm in the station, but if they then want to inspect my truck, and I notify them immediately at that point, would I be covered, or could I be charged for failing to notify for not saying it at my first contact?
    "Stand your ground, don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here!" - John Parker April 19th, 1775 Lexington, MA

Μολών λαβέ!