Carrying IWB??

Carrying IWB??

This is a discussion on Carrying IWB?? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a little new to concealed carry, so please bear with me. For those who carry IWB, how do you do this somewhat comfortably -- ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carrying IWB??

Carrying IWB??

I'm a little new to concealed carry, so please bear with me. For those who carry IWB, how do you do this somewhat comfortably -- particularly when your dress is sort of "business casual?"

I just recently purchased a CTAC MTAC holster, but find it a little difficult (and a little uncomfortable) to get it placed properly -- and to wear it.

When carrying IWB, do you need to go up a pant size in order for this to work reasonably well?

Distinguished Member Array Tally XD's Avatar
    It depends on your build and how you wear your clothes. Carrying will never be as comfortable as wearing cashmere and silk. It is just something that you make as comfortable as possible and learn to live with it knowing you are safer for it.

Your holster will need a good month to properly break in. That is if you actually wear it every day. Longer if you don't. You have to figure out what spot on your waist is the "magic" spot for comfort. No one can tell you what that spot will be for you. You will also need to find that right "cant" position for your holster so that it is comfortable and hides the gun well.

Your clothes may or may not have to change sizes. If you are business casual you are obviously having to tuck your shirt. That makes it even more difficult as you have to have enough shirt tail to "billow" it out around the gun grip so as not to print. Your pant waist needs to fit so that your pants aren't too tight and you continually blow off snaps or buttons. You will want a good gun belt in "dress" styling. This will make a huge difference in your comfort as it will support the weight of the gun properly.