SA, environment, and personal history- long

This is a discussion on SA, environment, and personal history- long within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So I've been thinking about throwing this out her for a while. And INccwchris's post in scenarios has kind of set this off. I have ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SA, environment, and personal history- long

So I've been thinking about throwing this out her for a while. And INccwchris's post in scenarios has kind of set this off. I have to admit something first and foremost.

My wife's SA is better than mine. Likely always will be. So why?

I used to work as a Wilderness Counselor with at risk males. At a point in my career I was studying William Glasser, who specialized in and developed Choice Theory and Reality Theory. In one of his books he talks about how awareness relates to power, or more specifically lack of power.

Simply put, people who are in a position of being subordinate tend to develop more awareness of their surroundings than people who are in more dominate positions. Before anyone gets too wound up, there are not absolutes here. I've seen people who should have been clueless be unbelievably aware.

If you don't believe it, ask the secretary if the boss is having a good day. Or a kid if mom/dad are having a good or bad day. Ask a wife if her husband is having a good day. They will know. Because it is important for them to see the clues about how someone feels in order for their day to go smoother. Has anyone ever had a secretary tell them it's not a good day to talk to the boss about that? They see something in the boss that tells them he would not be receptive to the idea right now. Ever come through the door and have a child tell you mommy/daddy is in a bad mood? They need to know that to know how to deal with that parent and not get yelled at or punished. This is particularly true in abusive parent situations.