I graduated

This is a discussion on I graduated within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I finally graduated. No, not school. I have had my 1911 for nearly a month and had been carrying without one in chamber but hammer ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I graduated

Senior Member Array justherenow's Avatar

I graduated

I finally graduated. No, not school. I have had my 1911 for nearly a month and had been carrying without one in chamber but hammer back. I tend to do this with every new gun I get (carry cocked but nothing in chamber) so that I can see for myself that it wont discharge itself during a normal day of carrying.

Today I felt the desire, I took the safety off, racked the slide while aiming into my bucket of sand and chambered a round. I put the safety on, got an extra round and put into the magazine, holstered my weapon.

I carried condition one for the first time today I know for 99.9% of you that is not a big deal, but for me being a new 1911 owner, the thought of the hammer being bumped and a it discharging a round is quite scary. I feel like a acomplished something today
    --------------------------
    Gen 4 Glock 32 .357sig and SW M&P 15/22
    Ohio CHL since 1/29/2009
    PA Non-Res 10/12/2010

Those who trade liberty for security have neither. ~John Adams

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member
    Good on ya. For me, it was gradual as well.

I think if one is not apprehensive (is thoughtful or pensive a better descriptor) about carrying a loaded pistol for the first time, there is something wrong. No matter how much you have trained or who you have trained with.

Plus you can get the kinks out of your carry system. Maybe I am just slow, but I did not perform perfectly in this area from the start. It was a process.

Quote Originally Posted by justherenow View Post