Transferring CCW/CPL to another state - FL/TX/AL/TN? (switching residency) Question!

This is a discussion on Transferring CCW/CPL to another state - FL/TX/AL/TN? (switching residency) Question! within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am currently a legal Michigan resident and have a Michigan concealed carry permit.. I am soon seriously considering switching my residency to perhaps either ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Transferring CCW/CPL to another state - FL/TX/AL/TN? (switching residency) Question!

Transferring CCW/CPL to another state - FL/TX/AL/TN? (switching residency) Question!

I am currently a legal Michigan resident and have a Michigan concealed carry permit.. I am soon seriously considering switching my residency to perhaps either Florida or Texas (or Alabama or Tennessee), but I know Florida, in particular, only recognizes a CPL if the holder is a resident of the state that issued it. Therefore, if I become a Florida resident, I'm assuming that my MI CPL then won't work in Florida because I will no longer be a MI resident. Does anyone know if I have to totally reapply and go thru everything again (training, background check, fingerprints, ......) to switch residency to any of these 4 states and get that state's CPL, OR if I can just transfer my current CPL to that state when I become a resident? Sorry if this is worded confusingly. lol. I appreciate any input!

2. Remove Ads

I am unaware of any states that convert CPL's.
    "I do what I do." Cpl 'coach' Bowden, "Southern Comfort".