Defensive Carry banner

Question about carrying in vehicle (GA)

66K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  Glocksin 
#1 ·
I was looking over the carry laws in Georgia,and am confused.I cannot get a clear answer from anyone,so im asking here.

Is it legal to carry a loaded pistol in the glove box or center console?

All i need is a yes or no answer.

#5 ·
I'm Not A Lawyer

Yes

O.C.G.A. 20.4.1. Firearms License
The law does not permit, outside of a person's home, motor vehicle, or place of business, the concealed carrying of a pistol, revolver, or concealable firearm unless he/she has a valid pistol license issued under code section 16-11-129, and then the firearm must be in a holster, hipgrip or any other similar device; in which event the weapon may be concealed by a person's clothing, handbag, briefcase or other closed container.
Carrying on the person in a concealed manner other than as provided above is not permitted and constitutes the offense of carrying a concealed weapon.
The law does not forbid any person who is not ineligible for a firearms license from transporting a loaded firearm in any private passenger motor vehicle in an open manner or in the glove compartment console or similar compartment of the vehicle.

#7 ·
Yes

O.C.G.A. 20.4.1. Firearms License
The law does not permit, outside of a person's home, motor vehicle, or place of business, the concealed carrying of a pistol, revolver, or concealable firearm unless he/she has a valid pistol license issued under code section 16-11-129, and then the firearm must be in a holster, hipgrip or any other similar device; in which event the weapon may be concealed by a person's clothing, handbag, briefcase or other closed container.
Carrying on the person in a concealed manner other than as provided above is not permitted and constitutes the offense of carrying a concealed weapon.