Confidence Booster

Confidence Booster

This is a discussion on Confidence Booster within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been carrying daily for about 5 months now. I still am rather self-conscious about people seeing or knowing that I have a gun on. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Confidence Booster

Confidence Booster

I've been carrying daily for about 5 months now. I still am rather self-conscious about people seeing or knowing that I have a gun on. I have a story to relate that was a real confidence booster for me.

It is amazing how oblivious people are to things around them. I had some family pass through last weekend that I had not seen since I started carrying regularly. They did not know that I carried, and I purposefully did not tell them. I was interested to see if they could tell or not. Our activities included hanging around the house, watching my son's T-ball game at the park, showing them around our newly planted garden, and me making homemade pizza in the kitchen. We were together from dinner on Friday until Sunday morning. I had my gun holstered the entire time I was with them, and frankly did not try very hard to make sure it was always covered by my untucked shirt.

Late Saturday evening, the subject of guns came up. I was asking what kind he had and he was asking about mine. We started talking about a mutual friend that we both knew carries daily. He asked me, "Do you plan to get a concealed carry permit?" I said, "I already have one, and I carry all the time." Then I stood up and showed him my holstered gun and told him that I had been carrying it the whole time. He looked at his wife and said, "Honey, did you know that he had a gun on this whole time?" She didn't.

It's a real confidence booster to know that people don't know that you have a gun. Even in very close quarters, people tend to be oblivious to what is around them.

I cant.

Carry